137 E. Franklin St. (often referred to as the CVS Building) was recently purchased by Grubb Properties. Grubb has made a commitment to renovate the building over the next year. Grubb has hired Samet Construction as the general contractor to oversee this process. This renovation will include a significant amount of demolition, including asbestos remediation. Demolition of walls and doors on the third floor will begin in late June. This first stage of demolition will not disturb the asbestos and poses minimal danger to building occupants.

Samet has hired an asbestos remediation expert, EHG, to develop and execute the asbestos remediation plan. Once asbestos remediation begins, every floor will have indoor air quality monitors that will be monitored by a third party firm to confirm that asbestos is not contaminating the air.

Once UNC has more detail on the asbestos remediation project, we will share it.

Primary Contact

Bruce Warrington
UNC Real Estate Operations
103 Airport Drive, Suite 128
CB #1060
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-1060
bruce.warrington@unc.edu
919-843-5252

Project Contact

Christopher Meyerhoeffer
Samet Corp
5420 Wade Park Boulevard, Suite 104
Raleigh, NC 27607
cmeyerhoeffer@sametcorp.com
919-703-0263 (Office)
919-218-1857 (Cell)

Building Contacts

Grubb Properties

Tammy Seigerman
Assistant Property Manager for Grubb Properties
113 Edinburgh South Drive, Suite 120
Cary, NC 27511
tseigerman@grubbproperties.com
919-388-5773

Erin Stanford
Director of Commercial Operations for Grubb Properties
113 Edinburgh South Drive, Suite 120
Cary, NC 27511
estanford@grubbproperties.com

EHS

Mary Beth Koza
1120 Estes Drive Extension
CB #1650
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-1650
mbkoza@ehs.unc.edu
919-843-5913

Dave Catalano
1120 Estes Drive Extension
CB #1650
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-1650
dacatalano@ehs.unc.edu
919-843-5913

UNC Department Occupants

Injury Prevention

Steve Marshall
137 E. Franklin St., Suite 500
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
smarshall@unc.edu
919-966-3916

Dept of Health and Behavior

James Emery, MPH
137 East Franklin St., Suite 21
CB #7506
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7506
jemery@ad.unc.edu
919-966-7172

University Ombuds Office

Victoria Dowd
137 E. Franklin St., Suite 22
CB# 5146
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-5146
919-843-8204
919-843-3197

Updates

CVS Building Project 9/18/2019

September 18, 2019

Please be advised of the following updates to the construction activity at Franklin/Rosemary.

Categories: CVS Plaza


CVS Building Project 9/4/2019

September 4, 2019

Please be advised that on Thursday, September 4, the water to the entire building (Franklin and Rosemary) will be shut down for necessary repairs to the risers in the building between 5:00 p.m. and 12:00 a.m.

Categories: CVS Plaza


CVS Building Project 8/29/2019

August 29, 2019

Please be advised that the abatement of the third floor at Franklin is complete and has had the final inspection of the work. The demo of the third floor on Rosemary is ongoing and expected to be completed within 3 weeks. At that time, abatement will begin in that area….

Categories: CVS Plaza